Meal Plan June 17-23

Breakfast:

Bars” as we call them. I’ve been trying to get more variety lately, but I miss these. Fresh fruit on the side.

Lunch:

Leftovers — I’ve been having a lot more of these lately now that I’m not eating meat and Josh is.

I also made kale salad and I bought an excessive amount of fruit this week, so I’m trying to eat as much as I can without wasting it on the side.

Dinner:

bolognese

  1. For father’s day I made one of Josh’s favorite meals – pasta bolognese. I used a recipe we got from the cooking class we took in Italy; but for myself I made vegan bolognese sauce (a version of this one) and we had roasted broccoli on the side.
  2. Tacos (I made mine with refried beans, nutritional yeast, chopped tomatoes and lettuce) with raw vegetables (carrot, celery, bell pepper and cucumber strips) and a few tortilla chips with guacamole and salsa
  3. Sandwiches. Like I said last week; I’m trying to minimize the time I’m spending cooking! I’m kind of excited to try this Strawberry Avocado Chickpea Salad sandwich OR Buffalo Chickpea wrap OR “No-Tuna” Salad. I will just have to see which one sounds best when it comes time to cook! We’ll have these with a side of frozen vegetables and oven-baked “fries”
  4. Red beans and rice (without sausage in mine) and frozen vegetables
  5. Pizza and caprese salad. I use this crust recipe. I’ll make mine with a bunch of vegetables (hopefully some banana peppers from our garden; woohoo!) and cashew parmesan.
  6. Dinner salads with baked potato or sweet potato on the side. On mine I’m going to have a mix of spinach and spring lettuce as my base and then top it with sliced strawberries, sliced peaches, avocado, french fried onions, glazed walnuts, chickpeas and a vinaigrette dressing like this one. Once while I was working a health fair an older Japanese woman came up to my table and started talking to me about diet. We got onto the topic of processed foods and she told me when she was a little girl in Japan they used to go to food carts after school to get plain baked sweet potatoes wrapped in foil as a snack. That always stuck with me as an interesting story; then recently I was reading The Blue Zones and learned that centenarian Okinawans grew up eating sweet potatoes for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day! Even to this day there are still sweet potato or “Yaki Imo” street carts in Japan. The best way to bake sweet potatoes to make them taste good before you even add anything is like this.

IMG_6728Look at that cute little arm!

Leave a Reply

