Meal Plan April 16-21

Breakfast:

So, you may notice at some point that I pretty much cycle through three primary breakfasts — these immunity boosting breakfast bars, muesli and baked blueberry oatmeal. I’ve been trying to change it up a little to avoid burn out. I try to stick to mostly plant-based breakfasts and try to find things that will provide a decent amount of protein to keep me full until lunch. This week I’m going to cycle through these two:

  1. Steel cut oatmeal (I’m going to make a big batch in the instant pot I bought…honestly it hasn’t been good for much else) seasoned with either honey or 100% pure maple syrup, a little butter with canola oil, fresh or frozen fruit and almonds or pepitas for protein.
  2.  Toasted almond and coconut quinoa porridge

Lunch:

Salad with side of sweet potato fries.

Salad #1: base of spinach and lettuce with sliced strawberries, chives from our garden, feta cheese and chickpeas with poppy seed dressing

Salad #2: base of spinach and lettuce with fresh blueberries, frozen corn roasted in the oven, chives from our garden, diced tomatoes, maybe bacon (if I have the time to make it) feta cheese and chickpeas. The dressing is a mix of olive oil, lime juice, honey and a little red wine vinegar (this is an easier version of my favorite summertime salad recipe here)

The sweet potatoes fries are easy:

  • Chop sweet potatoes into french fry shape
  • Spray a baking shit with canola or olive oil spray
  • Spread the sweet potatoes in a single layer
  • Spritz the top of the fries with more oil spray and add a sprinkle of salt
  • Bake in the oven at about 415 F for 25-30 minutes until the fries are crisp or start to carmelize

Dinner:

  1. We had a last minute guest this past week, so we ended up going out to dinner an extra day. We didn’t have the gnocchi from last week, so we’re going to have that this week. Gnocchi with pesto and shrimp, frozen vegetables.
  2. Hy-Vee freezer meal chicken walnut stir-fry. I’m adding a side of rice and it already has vegetables in it. If I’m being honest, so far I haven’t really enjoyed more than 1-2 of the Hy-Vee freezer meals, so I’m just trying to use them up and move on!
  3. Chicken tacos with southwest side salad. All I really did for this was put chicken breast and salsa in a slow cooker and cooked it all day until it shreds easily. Usually a do a bunch at one time and then I can freeze some. So for this meal I have one bag left of frozen shredded taco chicken and we’ll just put this on a shell with cheese, sour cream, chives, salsa… whatever you put on tacos. The southwest side salad is lettuce, corn, black beans, tomatoes, green onions or chives, bell pepper and whatever dressing you like.
  4. Maple glazed chicken and mashed sweet potatoes I use the McCormick Chicago blend steak seasoning on this and I usually make enough so that I can freeze the chicken from this recipe too. So this week the chicken is coming from the freezer, but I’ll make the sweet potatoes fresh (I don’t buy a refrigerated pack like the recipe calls for). Because of this — I won’t have as much glaze from the chicken to pour over the sweet potatoes, so when I make them I’ll probably add a little butter and maple syrup for more flavor. When I make it all fresh there is glaze in the pan that you can pour over everything and you won’t need to add anything to the potatoes.
  5. Breakfast burritos (whole wheat tortilla with scrambled egg, roasted potatoes, breakfast sausage and a little cheese) with mixed fresh fruit
  6. Turkey and dumplings — I just kind of make this up as I go along, but the “filling” is similar to this recipe. The dumplings I make is a multi-step process. I use the drop biscuits from this recipe. It seems like a lot of work, but once you make the mix you will have a bunch of it to use in other things. It’s kind of like homemade bisquick. When I make it, though, I leave out the dried milk and just use use milk in place of water where it’s called for in the recipes. I also grind my oats down into a flour rather than leaving them more whole. I think it gives a better texture.
Leave a Reply

