Meal plan for November 27-December 2

This week was a little challenging because we celebrated Thanksgiving with Josh’s family on Sunday… which is the day I usually do most of my food prep. So my breakfast and lunch have been a little less structured this week than usual, but here’s the plan:

Breakfast

Muesli with fruit and flax milk

Oatmeal with fruit – I hardly ever eat the pre-packaged oatmeal, but my original plans for this week fell through, so if I’m going to do it, I buy the BetterOats Oats Revolution Steel Cut

Lunch

Kale salad (I buy Old Glory pre-shredded kale), baked sweet potato with cinnamon and either pepitas or chickpeas…we had the Kale salad with dinner one night too, so I only have enough to get through Wednesday. I think I’ll default to roasted vegetables (including sweet potato for some starch) and roasted chickpeas the rest of the week.

Dinner

Stuffed potatoes: sauteéd onions and mushrooms, sliced Cube steak (I don’t use the flour and I just use beef broth instead of water and  boullion)

Baked salmon: I bought frozen filets from Sam’s Club… I just don’t have much luck with cooking salmon that has been frozen. The best salmon is always when I buy it fresh from the seafood counter. I think it might be previously frozen, but it still turns out better than when I freeze salmon myself… or the kind I got from Sam’s Club. I don’t have a recipe for this — just mix melted butter (about 1-2 Tablespoons, and I buy Land O’Lakes butter with canola oil) with equal amounts brown sugar, pour over the salmon filets and sprinkle with a little Allspice. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the salmon’s internal temperature reaches 145ºF, kale salad (see above), baked sweet potatoes

Potato Soup (Like this one, only I am going to try to do 3/4 chicken broth instead of all milk and I usually add the cheese on at the end so I can try to get by with a little less); side salad (just throw together lettuce and whatever vegetables, fruit, dressing you have)

Trying a new recipe this week: One Pot Lemon Herb Chicken and Rice with pan roasted brussel sprouts on the side

Barbecue Chicken Salads with some kind of starch on the side: bed of lettuce topped with shredded barbecue chicken (from the freezer when I previously made a recipe like this one), a tiny bit of shredded cheese, tiny bit of french fried onions, roasted corn, maybe some black beans, chopped chives or green onions and drizzled with a mixture of barbecue sauce and apple cider vinegar

Chicken tacos (this meat from the freezer on hard taco shells – taco bell brand – with normal taco toppings) with some kind of vegetable side (I was going to do green beans, but I forgot to buy them)

 

 

Leave a Reply

